Friday, 3 March 2017

Book Review: Diana Wynne Jones

Book Review: Diana Wynne Jones

This lady wrote a huge amount of books in the humourous fantasy realm, my favourites are the Chrestomanci series.

A bit of blurb about the first four books in the Chrestomanic series:

The Lives of Christopher Chant When Christopher discovers he has nine lives and is destined to be the next 'Chrestomanci' he is not pleased. But he soon finds that destiny is difficult to avoid, particularly when an evil smuggler, The Wraith, threatens the ways of the worlds...

Charmed Life Gwendolen and Eric Chant are taken to live with a powerful nine-lifed enchanter in Chrestomanci Castle. Gwendolen is thrilled, for she is a gifted witch. Eric, on the other hand, has no talent for magic at all. Watch the sparks fly, as life with Chrestomanci takes an unexpected turn...

Witch Week The note to Mr Crossley was clear: SOMEONE IN THIS CLASS IS A WITCH. The most awful thing was, the note might be true - for this was a school for witch-orphans. A visit from the Divisional Inquisitor would mean trouble... real trouble.

The Magicians of Caprona Casa Montana and Casa Petrocchi look after the magical business in Caprona. The families have been feuding for years, so when all the spells start going wrong, each naturally blames the other. When Young Tonino Montana and Angela Petrocchi disappear, terrible rumours of a White Devil start...

Chrestomanci series
Charmed Life (1977)
The Lives of Christopher Chant (1988)
Conrad's Fate (2005)
Witch Week (1982)
The Magicians of Caprona (1980)
The Pinhoe Egg (2006)
Mixed Magics (2000)

Derkholm series
Dark Lord of Derkholm (1998)
Year of the Griffin (2000)

Dalemark Quartet
The Spellcoats (1979)
Drowned Ammet (1977)
Cart and Cwidder (1975)
Crown of Dalemark (1993)

Castle series
Howl's Moving Castle (1986)
Castle in the Air (1990)
House of Many Ways (2008)

Magids series
Deep Secret (1997)
The Merlin Conspiracy (2003)

Changeover (1970)
Wilkins' Tooth (1973)
The Ogre Downstairs (1974)
Dogsbody (1975)
Eight Days of Luke (1975)
Power of Three (1977)
The Time of the Ghost (1981)
The Homeward Bounders (1981)
Archer's Goon (1984)
Fire and Hemlock (1985)
A Tale of Time City (1987)
Wild Robert (1989)
Black Maria (1991)
Yes, Dear (1992)
A Sudden Wild Magic (1992)
Hexwood (1993)
Puss in Boots (1999)
Enna Hittims (2006)
The Game (2007)
Enchanted Glass (2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.